Follow-up care

sknd34
on 9/26/11 9:49 am - West Fargo, ND
For those who self-paid for their revisions, do you pay for you follow-up care (labs, dr appt, scopes if needed, etc) also?  Trying to decide if selfpaying for a revision is an option. If I only have to pay for the surgery it self and can negotiate a price, it might be an option, but if I have to pay for follow-up care and any potential issues for the rest of my life, then I don't know if it really is an option.  Any information is appreciated.
Steph
Hislady
on 9/26/11 11:41 am - Vancouver, WA
I think it totally depends on what insurance you have. If it has a bariatric exclusion then they probably won't cover anything. If it does cover bariatric things it "may" cover but no guaratntee. Since you say you would have to self pay for the revision I guess your ins. doesn't cover bariatric so they probably wouldn't cover anything. I'm no expert but that's my take on it.
sknd34
on 9/26/11 11:46 am - West Fargo, ND
I have bariatric coverage and it paid for the placement of my lapband. However, they won't pay for a revision due to the 1 bariatric surgery per lifetime, even though I need the revision due to a complication of the lapband. Insurance has said that they will pay to have the band taken out, but not for the revision.
Steph
airbender
on 9/27/11 6:00 am
if you had a mechanical failure due to the lap band, you should appeal for your revision, those cases are different, while every insurance is different you don't have anything to lose.....
sknd34
on 9/27/11 7:47 am - West Fargo, ND