Landed in the ER with a kidney stone and dangerously low Potassium Levels

poet_kelly
on 4/29/11 11:54 am - OH
I would let them know that you're unhappy they gave you the wrong advice.  My surgeon told me to use Caltrate too and when I realized it was carbonate I sure told them I was unhappy with them and NOT following their advice.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Lady Lithia
on 4/29/11 10:40 am
VERY infrequently (like six a year) I take tums for antacid purposes..... should I not even do that?

~Lady Lithia~ 200 lbs lost! 
March 9, 2011 - Coccygectomy!
I chased my dreams, and my dreams, they caught me!
giraffesmiley.gif picture by hardyharhar_bucket

poet_kelly
on 4/29/11 11:53 am - OH
Personally I doubt that would be enough to cause a problem.  But I can't promise you that.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Lady Lithia
on 4/29/11 12:34 pm
Well it hasn't so far, and kidney issues aren't something that are common in my family (I don't know of a single family member in my entire extended family who has EVER had a kidney stone)

I do tums in a real pinch.... like when I ate olives and it turns out the lye hadn't been washed off, and it was burning my esophagus and pouch. I think I ate four tums in a five minute period. I figured that nothing the tums could do to me would be worse than a corrosive acid in my pouch/intestines.

seattledeb
on 4/30/11 10:35 am