Strange Week of Compliments - Rated Good to Odd

RLP39
on 5/6/11 3:12 pm
WARNING! Long post proceed with caution but only if you have some time to spare - It seems to be my week for compliments (not all physical) and I am actually getting used to finally accepting most of them gracefully without feeling totally awkward.

Odd and awkward
! - A man I have never met before approached me in a hotel where I was scheduled to speak and said, "Oh my gosh I almost didn't recognize you!  You have changed so much...you've lost a lot of weight.  You look wonderful."  I responded with a "Yes that is true thank you," along with a slightly puzzled look because I do not know him.  Then he says "Oh I'm sorry I have been watching your webcasts online and I feel like I know you."  He then proceeds to introduce himself and I try to make a quick get away. ;-)

Good but awkward
! - Last night I went out for a celebratory dinner with a panel of individuals I have been working with for about 9 months.  One on of the panel members also happens to be a good friend.  During an evening of toasting the work we accomplished together she stands up to say how proud she is of me and how I am an inspiration.  She then announces that I have lost the equivalent of a whole person and completed a few 5Ks and a 10K.  The weight loss is not a secret as they all have been with me once a month for the last 9 months but I am not sure I wanted a public toast in a restaurant.  She has been very supportive of me and she is terribly proud of me though so I know it came from a place of love.

Good! - not weight related! :-)  - I finished working with a panel today and a panel member said he had something to say.  He said he felt like we accomplished amazing things together but that he felt we owed that to one person - me. He said he thought I was miraculous. Then they all cheered.  That was nice.