Straws!!!

SkiNNieMiNNie
on 6/5/11 6:38 am - Trinity, AL
Help!! I am having a horrible time drinnking my protein shakes. Prior to surgery I did well but I think it is bc I was drinking em through a straw. I dont mind taste of the shake but the texture makes me wanna vomit...and so I am struggling. Tips anyone;)

poet_kelly
on 6/5/11 6:50 am - OH
What's your reason for not using a straw now?  If straws give you gas and it hurts, then do avoid them.  Otherwise, despite what some people seem to think, straws will not hurt you.  Won't stretch your pouch or anything like that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

SkiNNieMiNNie
on 6/5/11 8:32 am - Trinity, AL
My doc says no to straws for a year due to air:/
SkiNNieMiNNie
on 6/5/11 8:35 am - Trinity, AL
It is a big No from my Doc..atleast for a year...something to do with air, not exactly sure.  So I have been nervous about using one.
Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 6/5/11 6:54 am - OH
What Kelly said. I had to use a straw to get even CLOSE to all of my liquids in.  It did not bother me at all.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

aclay
on 6/5/11 6:57 am - MA
I had problems too ( I've never used a straw before...that's a huge no no from my dr. so she scared me>lol)  I couldn't even think of the protien shakes w/o getting sick.  I switche to isopure juice ones which where so much better and better on my stomach it was like drinking fruit punch or grape powerade.

poet_kelly
on 6/5/11 7:02 am - OH
What did she say would happen if you used a straw?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly