I need a new hobby

LizShort
on 7/9/11 11:46 pm - NC
 For the last 15 years, my hobby has been food.  I cook, I brag and I show off food.  I was in an abusive marriage and the only think that was left, no matter how hard my x tried to tell me differently, was my ability to cook something amazing simply from smell.

Well, now I need something other than food to occupy my mind.  I'm open to all ideas and will try them all at least once unless it means jumping off a bridge tied to a rubber band 

A little about me I guess....  I am an unemployed teacher (just got laid off in a time of teacher glut).  I have 5 undergrad degrees and 1 masters.  I've considered getting my doctorate, but I don't know what it and I'm already overwhelmed with student loans.  I love animals and I have a golden (my avitar) who I have trained as far as he can go so far.  (sit, stay, touch, heel, down, recall, leave it, find it, target, moo, whisper, high five, wait, and I can't remember what else his brain is stuffed atm)  I walk 20 mins every morning with him as well.  Other than that, I have the computer.  

So.... suggest away!!!!  I'm excited to hear from you all!!!

jkjstars123
on 7/9/11 11:56 pm, edited 7/9/11 11:56 pm - Tama, IA
How about volunteering at some places. Not sure if you can have a flower garden. How about reading? How about jig saw puzzles? Some kind of active hobbies are best for us.

Julie

HW 304, SW 291, GW 160, CW 140 H-5'9.5"            

virvin
on 7/10/11 12:19 am - CO
You have the perfect hobby waiting right beside you.  There are so many clubs and things to do with your golden.  Check your community for things like:  flyball, agility, disc.  Goldens are usually smart...what about becoming certified to have him certified as a therapy dog? 

HW - 325           SW - 310          GW - 200/190           CW - 203 - May 5, 2012

lynnc99
on 7/10/11 6:28 am
I was going to suggest training as a therapy dog too!
shannon0731
on 7/10/11 12:24 am - LA