Will I ever be able to eat sushi again?

megan cruz
on 7/14/11 2:34 pm - CO
So Im a total sushi ***** and have been craving it for soooooo long..granted I understand I am 3 weeks post op and stillon mushies...but will I ever be able to eat sushi again? help me Oh vets! PLEASE!
Proudtobaloser
on 7/14/11 2:40 pm - Fayetteville, NC
My bestie had hers last November and she eats sushi. It isnt whether or not you can, it is will you want to. Remember tastes change, what you enjoyed in the old body may not be enjoyed in the new body.

As a single person we make but a whisper, as a crowd we make a roar. A friend.
"I never claimed to be an expert at such matters, but I am an expert at giving my opinion."- My dad

missjann
on 7/14/11 4:57 pm, edited 7/14/11 4:57 pm
You will eventually be able to eat just about everything..give it some time.  At almost
7 months out, I'm just tolerating most all meats and very small amounts of rice. I can
eat most anything now and had my very first "steak".  You'll get there....be patient. 
Good luck!
    Jan

Pamela S.
on 7/14/11 11:11 pm - Virginia Beach, VA
Yes. I eat it all the time.
Mary B.
on 7/14/11 11:15 pm - Southern, MD
YES!!!

I cant do the big rolls anymore cause its just too much rice. I can only do one bite, but shashimi, calimari salad, seaweed salad and the small rolls...with the seaweed on the outside...those are ok for me. YUM!! 
    Banded Feb 23, 2009 / Revision to RNY Aug 25, 2010

ShrinkingJoe
on 7/14/11 11:48 pm
I was able to eat true sushi, mealing with rice, at 8 weeks.  Rice has not bothered me -- some people can't tolerate it.  As soon as my plan allowed, I think it was around 4 weeks, I started eating sushimi tuna, which went down great.  Raw tuna, which tastes like candy, has almost no calories and tons of protein.

Like many people, I have been avoiding sushi products from Japan since the Fukushima disaster.  It is a shame -- the best sushi fish and rice come from Japan...

T. Deeds
on 7/15/11 12:33 am