My husband doesn't think I'm moving enough!!

Bkritty
on 7/30/11 1:06 am

I had my surgery June 27th. Prior to surgery I moved about as little as possible. As soon as I got clearance from my surgeon at my two week follow up I went and got a gym membership at a gym that offers all sorts of classes (yoga, kickboxing, spin, step aerobics, etc) AND a membership for the family to the Y so I could do water aerobics. That was almost three weeks ago. I have worked my way up to water aerobics 5 days a week. At first I had difficulty finding the motivation to get up and go to it but the last week and a half I have really been enjoying it. I have the rest of the summer off because I am a full time nursing student and classes don't start for another month. My husband came home from work yesterday and said he thought I need to be doing more since I am not working or in school. He brought up that I haven't used the other gym membership at all yet.

Part of me thinks hes right. I definitely have the time to do more than I am doing. On the other hand I got the memberships to both so I could try different things and find something that I like and will stick to and I happen to like Water Aerobics.

I should also mention I have a 7 year old son and a 3 year old son and a puppy that I have to take care of all day or find somewhere for them to be. (the gym does have a daycare). I also have a house to take care of during the day while he works.

I am planning on checking out some classes at the gym at some point but it may be easier when the kids are back at school and nursery school. Is water aerobics enough? Should I feel bad that I am not doing more? My husband is very supportive but he is also very active himself and has never had a weight problem a day in his life. Sometimes I think I should listen to him because he obviously is doing something right and other times I think he has no clue how hard this is for me.

Sorry for the vent...but I welcome opinions!

Bettisima