a month?!

purpleamanda
on 8/15/11 4:14 am - TN
so i was just told that i have to be on full liquids for a month! i hate yogurt and cottage cheese and so that just leaves cream soups... i cant get my protein in my shakes cause of how sweet they are, just wondering when you progressed to puree foods?
    *Amanda*                
poet_kelly
on 8/15/11 4:16 am - OH
I was only on full liquids for one week.  But if you are doing them for a month, you're going to have to find a way to get your protein.  You will be very ill if you get no protein for a whole month.

How many brands of protein shakes have you tried?  Some are sweeter than others.  Or you could use unflavored protein powder and put it in your cream soups, sugar free pudding, etc.  Have you tried the chicken soup protein from Unjury?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

johnsoca
on 8/15/11 4:31 am - Madison, AL
My doc had a pretty conservative schedule -- 2 weeks on clear liquids, 2 weeks on full liquids and 2 weeks on purees. After 6 weeks I started on solid foods, gradually adding new ones as tolerated. Personally, I had the hardest time with the pureed foods -- the texture of pureed proteins like chicken or meat were really a problem for me.  I know it was a head-thing, but I was sure glad to move on to real food.

Do you like pudding? You can make instant pudding with skim milk and add protein powder for additional protein. I know you said you don't like yogurt, but do you like cheesecake? Jello's cheesecake flavor instant pudding mixed into plain greek yogurt tastes like the real deal. You can also top it with a tiny dollop of sugar-free preserves for more flavor.