relationship question

c5felsspirit
on 9/13/11 10:39 am - lake cormorant, MS

does anyone know the percentage of rny patients that end up in failed marriages or divorces after having the surgery?

Sarah   
Living for the moment. Living for me. Loving the moment. Loving me!!!

poet_kelly
on 9/13/11 10:42 am - OH
I've never seen any actual statistics.  I've heard people say that divorce is fairly common after WLS but I'm not sure that's really true.  It seems to me that if your marriage is in bad shape before you have surgery, it might get worse after surgery.  Surgery will not fix a bad marriage.  But if your marriage is in good shape before surgery, I don't know why having surgery would be harmful to a relationship.  In fact, it seems to me that getting healthier would be good for a relationship.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

DebsGiz
on 9/13/11 11:03 am - FL

I have to agree with you Kelly.

My marriage has not changed one bit.  It was great before surgery and it's still great.

However, I think there can be a couple of reasons why some relationships fail, and the first one that comes to mind is that when we are heavy, sometimes I think we choose the wrong partner because we feel our choices are limited as a result of the weight.  We settle for the wrong partner out of fear that there may not be anyone else who would want us.