Having a baby

Arinsho2
on 9/25/11 3:36 am
How soon can someone become pregnate after having the bypass? My Doc says 18 months what have some of yours said?
Arin----Revision from Band to BYPASS!!!!                        
poet_kelly
on 9/25/11 4:01 am - OH
People can become pregnant very soon after having RNY.  The surgery does not cause infertility.  However, most docs advise waiting a year or two.  I think my surgeon said 18 months but I don't remember for sure.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

tanya8071
on 9/25/11 4:04 am
my dr's have all told me 2 yrs after the surgery is the safe zone .. hope this helps :)

~TANYA~

~NOTHING TASTES AS GOOD AS BEING THIN FEELS~

talula216
on 9/25/11 5:48 am - RI
RNY on 01/16/12
According to the paperwork I received its says 2 years before trying to become pregnant.

Talula
Starting weight 369

(deactivated member)
on 9/25/11 6:06 am - Memphis, TN
Depends on your surgeon and your cir****tances. Most range anywhere from 12-24 months post surgery. Mainly because you are losing weight so quickly, they want to be sure the baby gets adequate nutrition. I have known of a few people who were ok'd by their surgeon and OBGYN earlier than that if their weight was fairly stable and they had something going on that they needed to go ahead and start trying. Most say absolute minimum 1 year, though.
PTM
on 9/25/11 6:30 am