Calcium

bomoni727
on 9/26/11 10:45 pm - MN
 I'm a newbie just had surgery on 9/7.  Tomorrow I have been instructed by my surgeon and nutritionist to start taking calcium citrate.  I would like to know if doing the Caltrate 600+D chews will work for the requirement.  I just want to make sure that I am doing the right thing.  Someone more than 3 weeks out please respond.  Thanks very much.
glzgowlass
on 9/26/11 11:18 pm, edited 9/26/11 6:49 pm - VA
RNY on 09/14/11 with
I think that is calcium carbonate which won't do. Check the label. It must be calcium citrate. I bought mine from the surgeon's office. "Bariatric Advantage" caramel chewable. It's very pleasant. You can buy others otc though. Just make sure you don't take them with iron and you take about 500-600mgs three times a day. At least that is what I was told at Doc's office. Your body can't absorb any more at any one time.

HW: 218, SW: 204, CW: 139 GW: 112-119

Dave Chambers
on 9/26/11 11:31 pm - Mira Loma, CA
Not every supplement comes in a chewable form. And if they did, you likely won't like the taste of all of them.  I prefer the calcium citrate in a capsule form. Capsules are far easier to swallow than pills, due to the larger size needed for 500-600mg of calcium citrate. DAVE

Dave Chambers, 6'3" tall, 365 before RNY, 185 low, 200 currently. My profile page: product reviews, tips for your journey, hi protein snacks, hi potency delicious green tea, and personal web site.
                          Dave150OHcard_small_small.jpg 235x140card image by ragdolldude

Jameen G.
on 9/27/11 12:39 am - NC
Dave what are yout taking?  what kind of capsules are these?  Brand? etc.?

jameen (take a minute to smile ...)

Dave Chambers
on 9/27/11 1:32 am - Mira Loma, CA
These capsules are from vitalady.com , her brand. I call to order or you can order online.  These are caclium citrate with some magnesium citrate to help absorption, 600mg. DAVE