Another Calcium Question

Stacy4442
on 10/2/11 11:48 am
I have been seeing gummy calcium supplements that are tricalcium phosphate.  My chemistry is really rusty and, sadly, my pharmacist didn't know if there was a difference between these and calcium citrate.  I am thinking that these are not an option.  Am I correct?

poet_kelly
on 10/2/11 11:50 am - OH
You are correct.  There is a BIG difference between tricalcium phosphate and calcium citrate.  You need a lot of stomach acid to break down the tricalcium phosphate to absorb it, but after RNY we have little stomach acid.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Stacy4442
on 10/2/11 12:01 pm
Thanks, Kelly.  Sometimes I wish I had you on speed dial.  I want to try the chewables, the soft ones that they have on Amazon but they are so expensive considering you would have to take so many a day.  I guess I will just stick to the citrical that I have been taking.

Thanks.

poet_kelly
on 10/2/11 12:04 pm - OH
Are you talking about the Calcet creamy bites?  They are yummy.  And expensive. 

Bariatric Advantages has had a deal on they chewy calcium bites lately, where you buy two bags, get one free.  You have to take six a day.  At their regular price they cost about as much per dose as the Calcet ones, but with this deal they are cheaper so I've been buying them for a while.  The caramel ones are really good.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

rbb825