Still SWEET :(

Sunshine1965
on 11/8/11 8:11 am
Well I can't get in to to see the Endocrinologist until 1/3.  So I am agarvated about that and more so agarvated that my sugars have been running between 250- 350.  Has everything I have done been in vane?  Am I still going to be cursed with diabtetes?

Zeigled
on 11/8/11 11:04 am - Parkton, MD
It is possible unfortunately.  You can't get an appointment until JANUARY...maybe find someone else.  Sorry your levels haven't gone down more.
HW 357 SW 341   

poet_kelly
on 11/8/11 11:22 am - OH
It is possible you could still have diabetes.  I don't think that means everything you've done has been in vain, though.  Was that the only benefit you wanted from WLS?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Ramie A.
on 11/8/11 11:57 pm - Bronx, New York, NY
The likelihood of being cured of diabetes by WLS depends on many factors.  But the biggest is what your diabetes was like before surgery and whether your pancreas is still capable of producing insulin.  Most Type II diabetics produce plenty of insulin but their cells are insulin resistant.  Oral medication makes your own cells more sensitive to the insulin already produced by your body.  However, after many years of your pancreas producing tons of insulin, the pancreatic cells start to die and eventually even the Type II diabetic does not produce enough insulin, essentially becoming a Type I diabetic.