question for Kelly about iron.

Jackie M.
on 11/28/11 10:58 pm - Fairhaven , MA
I remember you talking about a certain iron vitamin or supplement to take when you have to and it doesnt constipate you.  Can you tell me the name of it please.  Thanks for your help.  Hope you are feeling better.    Jackie

poet_kelly
on 11/28/11 11:02 pm - OH
Carbonyl.  It's a type of iron.  The brand I use is Sundown Perfect Iron but Feosol also makes a carbonyl.  Just make sure you pick up the carbonyl, not the ferrous sulfate, if you get the Feosol because they make both.

and yeah, I feel better.  Thanks.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Jackie M.
on 11/28/11 11:11 pm - Fairhaven , MA
thank you Kelly.

karen D.
on 11/29/11 2:27 am
How much do you take?  I have been on prescription iron since my surger 18 months ago and my insurance company has denied refills.  Sort of lost on what and how much to take.
poet_kelly
on 11/29/11 2:34 am - OH
What was your iron level last time you had labs?  Your ferritin?

The ASMBS says menstruating women need 54-63 mg iron and everyone else needs 36 mg, unless your labs show you need more.  I personally take 75 mg a day, with 500 mg vitamin C.  That keeps my iron and ferritin levels good - my ferritin is over 200.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Reel
on 11/29/11 3:33 am