Just checking in...

virvin
on 12/27/11 11:25 pm - CO
Hey, everyone.  I hope this finds you well and taking care of yourself. 

I haven't updated in a while, so since I'm home recovering from knee surgery yesterday, I thought I would get on and see what everyone is up to.

Here are my udates:
1.  3 weeks prior to my surgery I weighed 325.  I know weigh 217!
2.  I have gone from a size 32 pants to a size 16.
3.  I am off all my meds except for the ones for depression and asthma.
4.  I can walk 3 miles at a time again.
5.  I started Zumba classes and even thought I'm so uncoordinated it' sad...I still go.
6.  I did a 3 hour Zumba marathon to help raise money for CASA.
7.  I received snowshoes from Christmas so as soon as my knee is healed from surgery (had it yesterday), I am going to learn how to snowshoe.

I have my medical staff, my family, my friends, and the support of everyone on this website to thank.  The support has been tremendous.  I know the weightloss is slowing down, but I'm not discouraged.  Just means I have to give a lil more work to my workouts.

I do have a question for you who are post-op.  I still have no appetite and food has lost its allure.  Is this normal?  I mean, before my surgery I could be eating one meal and already planning my next.  Now I have to remind myself to eat and even then, I have to make myself eat.  It blows my mind that I can go from one extreme to the next, but it is nice not having such a powerful attraction to food any more.

Thanks!

HW - 325           SW - 310          GW - 200/190           CW - 203 - May 5, 2012

laura_vermont
on 12/27/11 11:50 pm
Congrats on all you have accomplished in such a short time!  You've done amazing!

As for appetite..... mine came back.  Not as bad as pre-op, but it's back.  I'm learning to deal with cravings and distinguishing what my body needs vs. what I want.  It's why I still visit here.

Laura