Depression

Jim MaToochi
on 1/16/12 3:43 pm - Chicago, IL
Does anyone who is post op suffer from depression?

I had RNY one year ago this past September. I am wondering if anyone is suffering from depression? I have suffered from depression in the past and have been hospitalized before. I am wondering if anyone else is feeling depressed after their weight loss?
poet_kelly
on 1/16/12 3:49 pm - OH
I've had depression for most of my life,  At least since age 12 or so.  I still have it after my weight loss.  I did not expect RNY to cure depression.  I've been hospitalized before too, a number of times.

Are you getting treatment for your depression?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Kat Kat
on 1/16/12 4:00 pm - AZ
I do, but it's been under control for a really long time. I'm 9 months out, and feeling really happy and positive about my future.  I'm also excited about all the things I will be able to do now that I'm no longer super morbidly obese. Are you seeing anyone? Are you on medication?  If not, please make an appointment as soon as possible.  You might  need to talk, and work through some issues that you used food to handle for you in the past. Please do this soon.

*Hugs*
Kat

immafatgirl
on 1/16/12 10:32 pm - KY
yeSSSS
BusyBri
on 1/16/12 11:46 pm - Reynoldsburg, OH
Yes. pre op i never had any issues with it.  Last week i finally went to my family dr about it. 

vmeyerw
on 1/17/12 12:21 am - belfield, ND
yes ! my pcp gave me celexa and it helped alot !
H.A.L.A B.
on 1/17/12 1:17 am
Some mineral - vitamin deficiencies may add to the depression. I.e. iron, B12, B1, D, tyrosine, iodine, proteins, etc.