HELP PLEASE! I need a NSAID alternative

shellbell75
on 2/13/12 7:42 am
I never realized how much I relied on Ibuprofen. There are time that Tylenol just doesn't cut it and frankly I am worried about becoming addicted to Vicoden.
**SHELLY**   HW: 316   SW: 256   GW: 125  CW: 118       

poet_kelly
on 2/13/12 7:43 am - OH
I don't know what other alternatives there are.  Unless the pain is caused by something that can be treated so you don't need pain meds anymore.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

KatCooper
on 2/13/12 7:51 am - Collierville, TN
Ultram is a good option.  While it is not a narcotic, it is being treated as a controled substance in most states becuase of its potential for abuse.  I use it for my knee pain.  Depending on your where your pain is located, Voltaren gel is an option.  It is a topical NSAID and with enough absorption it can cause problems (dont take a bath in it) but it has really helped when I dont want to take oral medications.  If you are having pain after exercise, consider ice.

Kat

Lots of 5K's, 10K's., 4 1/2 Marathons, 3 Sprint Triathlon done. 2 Olympics and my  First IRONMAN 70.3 September 2013 and First Full Marathon Dec 2013  !!!!!

My blog- www.NPRunner.blogspot.com

flyingwoman
on 2/14/12 11:42 am
 Topical NSAIDs are contraindicated for us... it's not NSAIDs' direct contact with the stomach that causes ulcers. It's any time an NSAID enters the blood stream. 

Starting BMI 69 w comorbidities | 55 of the weight lost above was pre-op.    
Amy R.
on 2/13/12 8:00 am
Yep Tramadol is a good option for some - doesn't do much for me anymore though.