Why did you choose RNY over any other WLS surgery option?

whatthehair
on 3/4/12 10:53 am - Kalamazoo, MI
 First of all, I am so thankful I've found this beautiful community of people! And I am FINALLY ready to do this for myself, even though I'm just getting started in this journey, I'm still stuck between which surgery is best for me. I've just bought the book Weight Loss Surgery for Dummies.....and I'm stuck between VSG and RNY, but leaning more towards RNY. So I guess I'm just hoping anyone else who's been through this can give me an idea why they personally chose it for them. What parts of the RNY did you find beneficial, and why did that out weight the VSG??? Thank you so much!

If you really knew me, you'd see my heart is honest and pure, your painful words will push me forward on my journey and NOT knock me down! I will succeed this time, for I have the support of a 50 story building, and the love to last a thousand lifetimes! It's time for me to LOVE ME!

wufpackerfan
on 3/4/12 11:00 am - Garner, NC
My insurance would pay for either Lap Band or RNY.  In reviewing over the 2 procedures...I just picked RNY because I thought that was a better fit for me.  My insurance didn't cover VSG.  A few other people I know also had RNY before me and they seemed to do great so that helped push me in the RNY ballpark.  Wish I had a better answer--but due to insurance covering WLS--I had to pick a procedure that was covered.

Best Luck to you!

"Nothing tastes as GOOD and being HEALTHY FEELS!" 

RNY (3/11)   Age: 45  Height: 5'5"  &  NO plastic surgical procedures                                                      Starting weight: 270  Lowest weight: 132  Goal weight: 135  Current weight: 138.8 

whatthehair
on 3/4/12 11:04 am - Kalamazoo, MI
 Thank you so much!!! I had contacted my ins, they told me that they cover 100% for WLS, but without a procedure or diagnosis code, they couldn't tell me exactly which options were covered, and which were not. Good luck to you!!!