Calcium Supplements...HELP!!!!

Darlene M.
on 3/13/12 5:21 pm
I really need help with figuring out what calcium supplement to use.  I have tried several, but my Sr says I need to be taking in 2000 mg at least every day so what I keep finding is that it takes 2 of the chewables to make 500 mg, so I am having to take 4 in the morning and 4 in the evening to get in my 2000......and after I eat them, they take up as much room as a regular meal for me.  I am still a newbie.... 8 1/2 weeks out, but as soon as I get through with that big wad of vitamins, B-12 and calcium, I am nauseated for a good little while and I can't take in any of my protein or water for a couple of hours.  I would appreciate any help y'all can give me...
poet_kelly
on 3/13/12 5:27 pm - OH
First keep in mind that we can only absorb about 500 mg at a time, so right now you're only absorbing about half of what you're taking.  You'll need to take four doses, 500 mg each, at least two hours apart.

Which chewables are you using?  Some are bigger than others.  And in fact, I think both Bariatric Advantage and Celebrate make some chewables that are 500 mg each.

You might also wanna try Upcal D.  I like it a lot.  It's a powder that you can mix in any liquid and it has no taste.  It doesn't make your drink any thicker than it is without the calcium.  So it shouldn't make you feel full.

Now, your B12 should be a sublingual, one that dissolves under your tongue, not one you swallow.  So it should not be making you feel full either.  But if it is, you could switch to B12 injections or the nasal spray.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Darlene M.
on 3/13/12 5:36 pm