I need some help please...

Melody D.
on 4/30/12 5:57 am - Pueblo, CO
I have now lost too much weight.  I weigh 111 and am looking scrawny and gaunt.  Surely someone has been through this.  I need to know how to gain some weight.  My goal is 127-130ish. I never thought I'd have this problem. My NUT hasn't been any help, she just says keep eating what you're eating. Obviously that's not working.  My labs look great except my protein is a little low.  Should I try drinks like Boost or Ensure?

Help!! 
Panniculectomy & Mastopexy (Breast Reduction & Lift)- 1/3/12
Upper Thigh Lift & Upper Arm Lift- 3/13/12
HW-290,
SW-288, GW-127, CW-111

poet_kelly
on 4/30/12 6:04 am - OH
I would try a good protein shake instead.  How many calories do you get on a typical day now?  You can easily add 200-300 calories with a good shake.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Melody D.
on 4/30/12 7:02 am - Pueblo, CO
 I'd estimate I'm getting between 1500-1750 calories. I haven't actually counted.  I think I'll break down and start trying the Ensure w/Revigor (protein.) I just have to tell myself its ok to pay $9 for a 6pk of shakes. Eeesh.
HW-290,
SW-288, GW-127, CW-111

Dave Chambers
on 4/30/12 6:35 am - Mira Loma, CA

You may have "bottomed out" from WLS. Most patients I know do have some wt regain after 18-24 months.  I'm 6' 3 " and started out at 365. It took me 24 months, but I got down to 186. I looked gaunt, felt weak and had a pasty complexion at that wt.  At 205-210 I feel much better, don't look guant, and have more strength.  Eat more protein.  DAVE