5 1/2 yrs out Osteopenia

SassySteph
on 6/13/12 10:24 pm - Lusby, MD
Results from my Dexa Scan shows I have some bone loss, it upsets me because I have always been very faithful with with taking my calcium and D3.  They are putting me on Fosamax which I am leary about, can we take this?

poet_kelly
on 6/13/12 10:26 pm - OH
I don't know anything about Fosamax.  We can take most meds, though, other than NSAIDS and extended release drugs.

What's your vitamin D level currently?  Even if you've been faithfully taking your calcium and D3, you may not have been taking enough D3.  You need a vitamin D level of at least 80 in order to reduce your risk of bone loss.

I'm glad you had a Dexa scan though and caught the problem now.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Barbara C.
on 6/13/12 11:29 pm - Raleigh, NC

Steph,