1 year surgiversary

T V.
on 7/7/12 12:03 am
I haven't posted in such a long time. But, I woke up today and realized it was one year ago today that I had my roux-en-y. I have only lost 42 lbs and that was in the first 3 months. Since then I have stayed at the same weight for 9 months. I never felt like I had the malabsorption that most people experience. I did have 3 strictures roughly 5 weeks out to 2 months. Is there hope for me?

poet_kelly
on 7/7/12 12:17 am - OH
What does your surgeon say about why you haven't lost anything in the last nine months?

Can you tell us about what you've been eating?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

T V.
on 7/7/12 4:47 am
Hey Kelly,
I am trying to eat lots of protein, but I am off of the diet quiet a bit. I separated from my husband and lost my job (which I know is not an excuse). I went back to my surgeon after 3 months, then they sent orders for my 6 month blood work to my regular physician since they are 3 hours away. I am wanting to go back and make an appointment, but I hate to hear them tell me that I have failed. I just hope that I am not past the "honeymoon" phase so I can get back on track. My life has been like a roller coaster. I am on anti-depressants and they don't seem to work much either. I feel like my hormones are all screwed up too. Advice?

Thanks for listening!

poet_kelly
on 7/7/12 5:15 am - OH
Go back to see your surgeon.  It's not his job to judge you, it's his job to help and advise you.

I'm wondering if you have some hormonal or other issues going on.  It seems like it would be difficult to not lose anything after the first three months, even if you tried not to.