Chew it up and spit it out

poet_kelly
on 7/19/12 10:20 am - OH
Then why not drink juice?  When I want juice, I drink juice, I don't chew up food and spit it out.  It really doesn't sound like a healthy behavior to me.  I think it would be wise to at least discuss it with your surgeon and/or registered dietician, and probably a therapist as well.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

happy_baker
on 7/19/12 4:54 pm
RNY on 02/15/12
 Does watermelon fill you up?  

It slides right through my pouch. I could probably eat half a melon if I were so inclined. That much sugar would make me sick, obviously, but wouldn't fill me up. But as mentioned above, it's the juice that contains the sugar, not the fiber, so if you're worried about saving yourself the sugar, spitting it out isn't going to do much. 
_._._._._. _._._._._. _._._._._. _._._._._. _._._._._. _._._._._. _._._._._. _._._._._. 
Check out my video blog!  www.youtube.com/user/HappilyShrinking/videos
Highest weight: 269.  Surgery weight: 233.  Goal weight: 144, and then we'll see.. 
Tessie W.
on 7/19/12 8:57 am
Wouldn't we still get some of the calories, etc. just from the juices? 

It's a slippery slope - be careful. 

ronningeeb
on 7/19/12 9:05 am
RNY on 08/09/12
Agreed, it is a dangerously slippery slope

poet_kelly
on 7/19/12 9:14 am - OH
Sure, fruit juice is usually high in calories and sugar.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly