CT contrast medium question

wendydettmer
on 8/16/12 11:37 am - Rochester, NY
 Does anyone know where I can find out the sugar content of this?  I'm assuming there has to be some in there because they make it raspberry flavored.  

Follow my vegan transition at www.bariatricvegan.com
HW:288    CW:146.4   GW: 140    RNY: 12/22/11  

courage18
on 8/16/12 11:47 am - MN
I am not sure, the pharmacy or place you are having the procedure done may be able to help you.
God doesn't require us to succeed; he only requires that you try.

poet_kelly
on 8/16/12 11:50 am - OH
Probably the best way to get the info is to contact the manufacturer.  You can ask your pharmacist but I don't know if they would have that information.  But you can ask what drug company  makes the product and call them and ask.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Hillhanna16
on 8/16/12 12:14 pm - ME
I had it done at a week post op.  My surgon rushed to the hospital, told me it didn't matter what the sugar was, I had to drink it for the ct scan.  She even let me use a straw.  It did not cause me any nasea.
wendydettmer
on 8/16/12 12:19 pm - Rochester, NY
thanks guys. i had it done in the hospital this week and didn't even realize until after that it might have sugar in it. i know i needed it anyway, but i had to drink 5 cups of it in an hour, and depending on the sugar content i was just curious if it was an accidental test on if i dump lol

bugsmommy
on 8/16/12 1:55 pm

I know this isn't an amount but I've never had a diabetic patients sugar go up drinking contrast so maybe it isn't real sugar.  Hope that helps.

Cherie

wendydettmer
on 8/16/12 2:46 pm - Rochester, NY
 that's good to know, thank you.