How much B12 and Vit. D do you take per day?

Kallen27
on 9/17/12 4:31 am

I am just making sure I am taking enough of B12 and Vit. D.

poet_kelly
on 9/17/12 4:53 am - OH
What I take is based on my labs and may not be what you need.  I take 1000 mcg B12 by subcutaneous injection once a week and I take 50,000 IU D3 three times a week.

The ASMBS recommends 350 to 500 mcg B12 daily if you use a sublingual, and 1000 mcg monthly if you do injections, but some people, like me, need more than that.

The AMSBS doesn't recommend a specific dose of D3 but just says it should be based on your labs.  The Linus Pauling Institute says we need our vitamin D level to be at least 80 and most post ops need at least 10,000 IU a day to keep their level up there.  A few need less, though.  I take 50,000 IU D3 three times a week and my level was 104 last time I had labs done.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Kallen27
on 9/17/12 4:58 am
Thank you Kelly! I love how we can always count on you to help!

Kallen27
on 9/17/12 5:05 am
Sorry one more thing what is the best Vit. D to get?

poet_kelly
on 9/17/12 5:40 am - OH
It needs to be D3, not D2, and it needs to be dry, not in oil.  That means a dry tablet or a capsule with dry powdery stuff inside, not a soft gel with oily stuff inside.

Any brand is fine.  If you want a big dose, I suggest the 50,000 IU D3 capsules from vitalady.  It's hard to find big doses in stores.  Also, D3 is a fat soluble vitamin so we don't have to take it every day.  So you might only need the 50,000 IU capsules once or twice a week instead of having to take them daily, which I like because I like to take as few pills as possible.