Chronic constipation?

BeansOnToast
on 10/15/12 1:04 am - Reisterstown, MD
RNY on 07/31/12
Hey all! It's been a while since I've posted, but I've just been pretty down lately and been pretty busy with having a wedding and all. :)

But I wanted to ask you a quick question. I've been constipated pretty much daily for the last few weeks. My fluid levels are up where they should be and my solid foods are few and far between. I started my iron chew a few weeks ago and I know iron can cause constipation, I had a huge issue with it when I was a baby until my doctor changed my formula to an iron-free. I've emailed my dietitian about this and she said to take the iron only every other day. That's all well and good, but it isn't helping yet. I tried milk of magnesia a few days ago and it did help a little, but not at all anymore. I've done the colace daily before and that did nothing. So, I'm really at a loss. Without getting too graphic, I'm pretty much in tears once a day minimum.

Any suggestions at all? I had a similar issue in March, before my surgery (I know the cause. I was in a different country, drank very little water and a ton of caffeine, etc) and ended up in the ER for TWO enemas that didn't work. The only thing that helped was a bottle a day for four days of magnesium citrate. I don't want to have to go that route again, it was the worst experience of my life. :(
Mel.
xoxo

summerjoyZ
on 10/15/12 1:16 am - TN
 I do miralax everyday still. I am 8 months out. Miralax takes a bit at first to work, but it keeps me regular as long as I use it daily. Have you tried to add more fiber into your diet? 

BeansOnToast
on 10/15/12 1:28 am - Reisterstown, MD
RNY on 07/31/12