Too big to work?

jessann5
on 12/6/12 6:54 pm - Kansas City, KS

Story that is makign the local news here in Kansas City this morning.

This woman was let go from her new job because management said she was "too big to work"

Watching this video breaks my heart. Weight discrimination is a major issue and it needs to stop.

http://fox4kc.com/2012/12/06/waitress-sent-home-told-shes-to o-heavy-to-work/

RNY 1/29/08
Pre: BMI 47.6 wt 279
Current: BMI 24.9 wt 146
total pounds lost: 133

poet_kelly
on 12/6/12 8:00 pm - OH

Wow.  That's really sad.  At 278 lbs, I would think she would be capable of doing the job.  It would be different if her weight made her unable to do the work, but it sounds like that was not the case here.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 12/6/12 10:57 pm

Awful. She wasn't even given a chance to prove or disprove the preconceived notions of how she would be able to perform in the job. I hope something is done in regards to the blatant discrimination that this lady encountered.

Friendlybyte
on 12/7/12 12:30 am - Greeley, CO
RNY on 08/28/12

This made me so upset!  I posted the link on Facebook, the restaurant has a page I am going to make a post there and let them know how I feel! blush  Thanks for posting this!!

Cindy~*

shawna W.
on 12/7/12 1:58 am
RNY on 07/26/13

that is sad. i had that happen to me and my sister when we applied to buckle (a clothing store) i could still fit in their largest size. and they said that we were to big for the stores image and told dont apply again unless you are on a diet and losing weight.

HW: 358 SW: 316   

Kat1313
on 12/7/12 1:59 am - Jacksonville , FL
RNY on 04/08/13