CAffeine

a_dmond_n_the_ruff
on 12/25/12 1:13 am
RNY on 09/17/12

Why is it that caffeine makes our stomach hurt now?  EVERYtime I drink caffeinated coffee, I have to run to the bathroom about 20min later.  It just goes right through me.

Shannon
HW: 260 SW: 254 DOS:227 CW: 175   27lbs lost before surgery

poet_kelly
on 12/25/12 1:23 am - OH

It doesn't bother my stomach.  I don't know why it makes yours hurt.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

PamelaNJ
on 12/25/12 1:28 am

I think caffeinated coffee affects a lot of people like that, whether they had WLS or not.  After all, lots of people say to drinking a cup of coffee in the morning keeps them regular!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Working on becoming a healthier me!

a_dmond_n_the_ruff
on 12/25/12 2:47 am
RNY on 09/17/12

I don't know. It's weird.  It didn't bother me before surgery

Shannon

Neaucora
on 12/25/12 5:21 am - AZ
RNY on 04/23/12

I used to LOVE coffee. Now I only drink it when I can't poo. It works great in that department, but it also upsets my stomach. Makes it hurt and nauseousness. sad. But I can still drink my tea, so now I drink tea in place of the coffee. I thought maybe it was the caffeine in the coffee upsetting my pouch. But the caffeine in the tea does not do that.

SarahLee1969
on 12/25/12 5:55 am - NY
One reason MAY be because it is a stimulant... it is, as other posters indicated, know to stimulate gastric motility. It is also know to stimulate gastric secretions, and frequently can be a bit acidic. All of which may be too much for your new pouch. I have been fortunate to tolerate decafe with no problems, so I just stuck with that post op.
emt_amy