loose skin

wreedgarden
on 1/11/13 12:49 am - KY
RNY on 01/21/13

Is there a way to prevent the amount of loose skin I will get after/during losing all the weight? Sit-ups? Crunches?

poet_kelly
on 1/11/13 12:51 am - OH

No.  Situps and crunches can tighten up your muscles, but skin isn't a muscle.  We get loose skin because we grow extra skin to cover out large bodies and once you grow skin, you can't ungrow it.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

wmamey
on 1/11/13 1:03 am
RNY on 06/18/12
Yep, what Kelly said!

Joyceebaby
on 1/11/13 2:13 am
RNY on 11/29/12

Actually, it's about your skins elasticity.  If you're younger and/or don't have stretch marks you will have less loose skin than somone older and/or with stretch marks.  If you have a lot of stretch marks, that skin will be loose and no amount of exercise will "tighten it", only surgery will do that.

Caroline Bell
on 1/11/13 2:26 am