Did I just dump?

Careecans9801
on 1/22/13 12:46 am - cohocton, NY

Hi All...

I am one week post op and this morning I ate part of a greek yougurt, it was not my "normal" brand but I figured I would try it. Shortly after I ate it I got light headed and then had to go to the bathroom. I am thinking it must be the dumping syndrome, but since I am a newbie I thought I would reach out to you....

Surgery Date 1/14/13

poet_kelly
on 1/22/13 12:56 am - OH

Doesn't sound like dumping.  If you had dumped, you probably would have had a very rapid heartbeat, been sweaty, dizzy, had stomach pain, maybe been nauseous and possibly even thrown up.  You may have had diarrhea, but not necessarily. 

How much sugar was in the yogurt you ate?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

selhard
on 1/22/13 8:10 am - MN
RNY on 11/26/12

Does anyone know how "dumping" got it's name?  I sure don't like how "I dumped" sounds and hope it never happens to me, but then again, I might understand the disgusting name a little bit better then!  Yikes, did I just jinx myself--knock on wood.

poet_kelly
on 1/22/13 8:12 am - OH

It's short for "dumping syndrome," and it's called dumping syndrome because food gets "dumped" into the small intestine rapidly since you don't have a pyloric valve after RNY and that causes you to absorb too much sugar too rapidly.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.