Sometimes it just sucks!

jessann5
on 1/29/13 11:44 pm - Kansas City, KS

So I have had six incisional hernias since my RNY in 01/2008 and all of them have been repaired surgically. After my last one in January 2012, my surgeon told me that I would most likely never be able to pick up more than 20 pounds because  my abdominal wall muscle is so separated that hernias are inevitable if I continue to lift heavy objects.

I am A nurse, I took care of patients on a Med-Surg floor. I could not continue to work on the floor because I could no longer lift, pull or push patients because of my weight lifting restrictions and multiple hernias. I had to leave it but thankfully, I found a job at the same hospital doing "paperwork" stuff that still requires nursing knowledge, but no patient care or interaction. I miss nursing so much and it really hurts today. I loved taking care of the patients and I miss being a nurse.

If my RNY has taught me anything it is that there is a consequence to every decision, and every action has a reaction. No matter what that turns out to be either good or bad, it is still a give and take.

Just needed to get that out :) I know my OH friends understand like no one else can

RNY 1/29/08
Pre: BMI 47.6 wt 279
Current: BMI 24.9 wt 146
total pounds lost: 133

Oxford Comma Hag
on 1/29/13 11:49 pm
I'm sorry; that really is a disappointment.
It is hard enough to find a career you love and not being able to do all of it would be frustrating.

I fight badgers with spoons.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800-273-8255

Suicidepreventionlifeline.org

Lori F.
on 1/29/13 11:51 pm - St. Clair Shores, MI
RNY on 12/27/12
I'm so sorry

Follow me @ www.bariatrickitchen.com  My Progress, Recipes and Things I learn along the way
HW: 375   ​SW: 342  GW:  140  HT: 5'7"  

Megan S.
on 1/30/13 2:31 am - Baltimore, MD
RNY on 03/07/13