Handfuls of hair

glad2balive
on 4/15/13 4:26 am

I am losing handfuls of hair every time I brush through my hair. What am I lacking? My last labs came back fine.

The happiness of your life depends on the quality of your thoughts.

In Christ

poet_kelly
on 4/15/13 4:30 am - OH

When was your surgery?  Hair loss is common from about three to six months post op and it's not due to lacking anything.  It's a side effect of having surgery under general anesthesia called telogen effluvium.

Nutritional deficiencies that can cause hair loss include iron, zinc, B12, and protein.  Were those levels all OK when you had labs?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Jilly Bean
on 4/15/13 4:45 am - IN
RNY on 07/09/12

That happened to me in months 6-8.  FINALLY, at month 9 it is stopping.  I thought I was going to go bald because my hair was falling out by the fistful.  

Surgery weight:  232 lbs. / Goal: 145 lbs. Height:  5'5"     Fat? Ain't nobody got time for that.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 4/15/13 5:13 am - OH

Maybe I am confusing you with someone else, but aren't you a couple of years out?  If not, ignore this and go back to what Kelly said. ;)  if so, how long ago were your labs?  Our vitamin levels can drop very quickly, so if they were more than 6 months ago, you might want to have some of them checked again.