My Husband Doesn't Agree

lajuana1978
on 5/16/13 12:42 pm - New York, NY

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie on OH.  I have just came to the conclusion that I would like to have the gastric bypass done.  I actually am not new to the gastric bypass process.  About 10 years ago, I gotten as far as waiting for my surgery date and had gotten pregnant.  At the time I was not married to my now husband (I did not meet him for another six years later).  I told my husband that I did not feel right.  I explained to him how I was tired of looking the way that I am.  I have a lot of confidence in myself in a lot of other things, but when it comes to my weight I go inside of myself.  I do not look at mirrors, even though when I get dressed up my husband tells me how beautiful I look, I just don't feel the same way he does.  I like to avoid mirrors altogether.  

My husband does not like the idea of me getting the gastric bypass done.  He would like for me to loose the weight the old fashioned way.  I told him that throughout the years I have tried everything, and nothing works.  I know the reason why he does not want me to get the surgery done is because of all the complications that people have had with it.  But I let him know that just because something happened to someone that has had the surgery sometime means that they did not follow the directions of their doctor.  And of course I know other things can happen, but I don't look at it that way.