Newbie Introduction

fatdoctor
on 5/21/13 6:04 pm
I'm a family physician with a BMI of 56. I feel my obesity is unprofessional as well as unhealthy. I'm a mom who can't play with her little kids. Just made decision to have RNY 3 weeks ago. Met surgeon this week. Probably having surgery in mid-July (self pay---my ins won't cover despite 5 comorbidities).

Just want to thank you all here at OH. I've been learning and lurking for months, thought I'd finally say hello.
aweis
on 5/21/13 6:42 pm

Welcome !

jensieck76
on 5/21/13 7:40 pm - TX
Welcome!! Im a week out best thing I have ever done for my health!!

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. Phillipians 4:13 laugh

CW 190!!! GW Anything under 200 was the icing on the cake...going for 170...lil more icing never hurt anybody!

TomN
on 5/21/13 8:47 pm
RNY on 12/27/12 with
Wishing you only the best! This is a great group and one I check on a couple times a day to keep me grounded.

dahoodman
on 5/21/13 8:49 pm, edited 5/21/13 8:50 pm - VA
RNY on 03/26/13

Congrats on your decision. It is a shame about insurance not covering this surgery. I had my surgery 8 weeks ago and I feel great. I am down right around 45 pounds now. It has been the best decision I have made. I was very worried before the surgery and just after that this could potentially be my worst decision, but those worries have gone away. This forum is a great place to search for answers and if you can't find it using the search tool then you can always ask the questions.