I thought I had figured out "how to go" everyday, but now I'm not!

AnniesSS
on 6/16/13 4:56 am
RNY on 09/11/12

Thanks for answering my question about constipation issues.  It's been really helpful.  As for the calcium issue - this is not a question I asked anyone to comment on and since my DOCTOR knows about everything going on with my vitamins I do and don't take, I'm trusting his advice as he is my doctor.

Annie  HW 289   SW 257   GW 150

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 6/16/13 5:26 am - OH

Well, I hope you are having regular bone scans so you can catch the osteoporosis before it becomes debilitating.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

poet_kelly
on 6/16/13 5:59 am - OH

I'm glad you appreciate the excellent advice you received here.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Chamberswife
on 6/16/13 5:06 am
GOOD for you Annie!!! I never realized there were so many DOCTORS on here!

My Surgeon also told me to stop taking my calcium and I listen to him and not anyone posting on here

WOW
Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 6/16/13 5:28 am, edited 6/16/13 5:28 am - OH

Unfortunately, you will likely find that most WLS surgeons are just that... surgeons... and often know little about nutrition before or after RNY.  Even more unfortunately, you will likely find that out when there is a problem that develops.

I would trust the expert, collaborative opinions of the ASMBS before I would trust any single surgeon, including my own.  And the ASMBS says you need daily calcium.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained