Need help - waiting for surgery to get scheduled

Jessica H.
on 7/10/13 3:11 am - North Royalton, OH
RNY on 08/05/13

So I went through all the pre-op testing and such.  I waited anxiously and as patiently as I could (which was hard!) for 2 weeks to hear that I got approved for surgery from my insurance.  I thought the waiting was done.  Nope.  Apparently I am waiting for my surgeon's nurse to call to schedule my surgery and pre-op appts.  Well my insurance approved the surgery July 1st.  How much longer should I have to wait? 

I am going CRAZY.  I need a date.  My work needs a date.  I will be fine waiting for surgery when I know how long I have to wait for.  But this is horrible. 

Jessica

http://www.thebariatricdiva.com 

poet_kelly
on 7/10/13 3:20 am - OH

Why not call the nurse instead of waiting for her to call you?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Jessica H.
on 7/10/13 3:30 am - North Royalton, OH
RNY on 08/05/13

Hey Kelly.  I called when I first learned that I was approved for the surgery from my insurance.  The clinic had record that it was approved too.  They told me to wait for the nurse to call and that it would be 3-5 business days.  I think today is business day #5 or #6, depending on when they received the notification.  I dont want to bug them but I might end up calling today or tomorrow.  Ugh!

Jessica

poet_kelly
on 7/10/13 3:33 am - OH

I'd just call and say she hasn't called yet and ask to speak to her.  If she's not available, leave her a message.  If she doesn't call back in a day or two, try again.  If she still doesn't get back to you, then I'd ask to speak to her supervisor.  I'd be polite about it, but I'd call.