Newbie Questions - Drains and Staples

Stacyjanp
on 7/15/13 1:04 pm - NC
RNY on 09/30/13

Hi All. I am a newbie still waiting for insurance approval but am learning so much from everyone here.

I wondered if there is any rhyme or reason as to why some people get drains put in and others don't?

i also wonder what happens to the pieces of staples that fall off when a surgeon staples your stomach and intestines with the stapling device? I watched a video link from here the other day and wondered if the staple shards are harmful if not retrieved?

I thank everyone for all that they share here which helps us newbies stay calm and keep our eyes on the ultimate prize!

Highest Weight 225. Day of Surgery Weight 212.

JaneJetson60
on 7/15/13 1:42 pm
RNY on 05/07/12

You will want to ask your surgeon once you see him/her.  It is up to the surgeon.  I did not have a drain, nor did I have staples.  I was glued on the outside.  Again, it's however they do their own procedure.  Jane  

CarolF3
on 7/15/13 1:45 pm - Albany, NY
RNY on 12/17/12

The only reason I got a drain was that my surgeon also removed my gall bladder at the same time while I was on the table. My ultrasound before surgery had showed 10 gall stones so he said he would do it as it would save going back on the table again in  few weeks after my surgery. It needed to be done. It doesn't hurt when they take the drain out-it just feels weird.

Carol

StephieG1974
on 7/15/13 1:55 pm - Hampton, VA
RNY on 06/26/13

I too didn't have a drain.  My gallbladder was removed a year prior to my RNY.  Also, I didn't have any staples, I was glued.  My surgeon said that the inside sutures would dissolve and I would heal from the inside out.  

Good luck to you!

Missella20
on 7/15/13 7:33 pm
RNY on 07/11/13

Hi,