Vitamines

NurseBrandy
on 7/22/13 3:42 pm

Hello,

Im getting closer to surgery ( hopefully ). Finishing up my 6 months of diet documentation. For now I want to focus on what vitamins I really need to purchase, and even start taking ahead of time. I am a nurse and have educated myself about the procedure, food, etc. However rather than just reading Id like to learn from people that have actually lived it :) Any advise is appreciated!!

Wobbly3
on 7/22/13 4:54 pm

Nurse Brandy.............suggest you look into "Chewable" vitamins, of the "Gummy" variety. With RNY, the passage of foods and such that you consume will be much more rapid than before surgery. As such, the absorption rate as is accomplished in the "normal" GI tract will be compromised. As one doctor explained to my wife, "with normal vitamins and meds, the end result is you will be deficient and your toilet will be very healthy!" If you take any Extended Release medications, discuss those with your physician also. He or she may replace them with liquid types.

poet_kelly
on 7/22/13 10:08 pm - OH

There are no gummy multivitamins available currently that have anywhere near all the nutrients we need.

And the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery says we absorb "normal" vitamins just fine.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Candy V.
on 7/22/13 7:45 pm - MI
RNY on 09/12/12