Finally, a "tell"

Karens62
on 7/30/13 12:00 am - NC
RNY on 02/26/13
Here I am, 5 months out and just this week my nose starts to run when my pouch is full. Because this started so long after surgery, it took me a few days to figure out what was going on. What other signs do people have?

HW - 319, SW - 303.5 

poet_kelly
on 7/30/13 12:07 am - OH

I know many people say their noses run when they are full.  I don't understand why that would be.  I don't get the connection between the pouch and the nose.

When I'm full, I feel full.  Like, I don't feel hungry anymore, and if I eat a bite or two more, my stomach feels uncomfortable.  It feels kind of distended and if I eat another bite or two, it hurts a bit.  I also start to feel nauseous.  It doesn't really feel much different than feeling full felt before I had RNY.  It just happens much sooner!

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Sarahakers11
on 7/30/13 2:54 am - Culpeper, VA
RNY on 06/04/13 with

According to my PA it has to do with the pouch expanding and hitting the vegas (sp?) nerve.  it depends on your anatomy and how close your pouch is to yours etc. etc.   You know what they say what happens to the vegas stays in the nose...No wait!

HW - 297  start of Pre-op - 290.2   SW- 279.2   GW - 145    

The Depressed Hiker Blog

A middle aged over the hump and over what "I'm suppose to do" woman, with the wild spirit and a nasty case of depression and anxiety!

Laura in Texas
on 7/30/13 12:51 am

Some people hiccup or sneeze as their full signals.

I read it's related to the vagus nerve.

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis