Weight gain for the pro's

kevinj
on 8/6/13 5:35 am - NY

I had surgery over 2 years ago and have now begun to gain weight (25 pounds). I get "sick" whenever I eat. What's up?

ToNewBeginnings
on 8/6/13 5:38 am

Is it the types of food you are eating?

poet_kelly
on 8/6/13 5:40 am - OH

I don't know.  Do you mean you throw up every time you eat?  If so, how are you getting enough calories to gain weight?

Do you know how many calories you're eating in a typical day?  Are you getting much exercise?

What does your doctor say?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

kevinj
on 8/6/13 5:45 am - NY

I get about 1500 calories per day, 115 protein. I do not throw up but get the sweats and feel like I want to throw up no matter what I eat (i.e. egg white omlette) Dr does not know what is happening. Blood work is all okay.

poet_kelly
on 8/6/13 5:47 am - OH

Other than blood work, what tests has the doctor ordered?  Endoscopy?  Gastric emptying study?

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

kevinj
on 8/6/13 5:48 am - NY

No other tests. They do not seem too concerned.

poet_kelly
on 8/6/13 5:49 am - OH

Then if I was in your position, I would either ask them order some other tests to try to find the cause of the problem or I would see another doc who is concerned.

cajungirl
on 8/6/13 5:54 am

Define how you feel sick?  What test has your medical team performed?  How long after eating?

Proximal RNY Lap - 02/21/05