Has anyone taken Clindamycin HCL 150 mg since surgery..

mussit64
on 8/13/13 11:01 am - Panama City , FL
RNY on 04/18/13

I have abscess tooth and can't get in to the dentist until Thursday..   I have a whole bottle from the last time I had a tooth hurting that I can take but not sure if I can since having Gastric Bypass.   Has anyone taken this since surgery?   Thanks for any help... I am hurting.. 

SarahLee1969
on 8/13/13 11:25 am - NY
Personally I would not start taking an antibiotic that was prescribed for a previous problem and I did not finish for that problem. I work in healthcare and we near about not finishing the full course of antibiotics and then taking those "leftovers" later as a prime cause of bacteria developing multi-drug resistance. Aside from that... I usually end up with a side effect after taking an antibiotic (thrush, vaginal yeast infection, diarrhea) that may need treatment. I try to limit my use of antibiotics to only when absolutely necessary.
If you think you need an antibiotic call your dentist and ask if they think you need one. Tomorrow is Wednesday and your apt is Thursday, so you would only get in a day worth of the Antibiotic before seeing the doctor.
In the meantime, ask the dentist what can be done to help you get thru... maybe sal****er rinses, topical analgesic like Oragel, and pain reliever like Tylenol.
mussit64
on 8/13/13 11:34 am - Panama City , FL
RNY on 04/18/13