Very Low Vitamin D?

CPA_Loser
on 8/16/13 7:42 am - WA

So I am pre-op and just really a few weeks into all the pre-op appointments. I had my blood work and THANKFULLY I don't have anything really glaringly wrong except slightly high cholesterol and insulin.

BUT I had very low Vitamin D levels at 7. I am an accountant and admittedly I did not get to see the sun very much this whole last year...so I guess it makes sense. Working too much!

Anyway, my question is - should I start taking a supplement to get that level up? And if so, anyone have any suggestions as to how much and how often? My doctor hasn't yet gone over the results really...

THANKS!!

poet_kelly
on 8/16/13 8:08 am - OH

I would definitely be taking a supplement!  Below 80, you're at increased risk for stuff like osteoporosis, heart disease and some types of cancer.  7 is dangerously low.

I would probably take 50,000 IU D3 (not D2) once a week, since you are pre op.  I would do that for a couple months, then get it checked again.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

CPA_Loser
on 8/16/13 8:36 am - WA

Thanks sooooooo much!! I appreciate the advice. I am so new to all this vitamin stuff but I hope to be a pro like you soon :)

poet_kelly
on 8/16/13 8:37 am - OH

Check out these links if you want to learn lots of good stuff about vitamin D. 

http://www.vitamindcouncil.org/

http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/infocenter/vitamins/vitaminD/

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly