Probably won't have surgery for another 4 months

bdaycakegirl
on 10/22/13 6:44 am

My surgeon is in and out as his wife has terminal cancer. As of right now my surgery won't be for another four months, at least. They won't even submit my paperwork to insurance, as even if it gets approved, the approval may expire prior to me getting surgery. I am so very sad for him, and also frustrated for myself. I've been working at this for a full year now.

hw: 311  cw:304  sw:???  gw:150

poet_kelly
on 10/22/13 6:46 am - OH

I'm sorry to hear that.  Is it possible to have a different surgeon do your procedure?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

bdaycakegirl
on 10/22/13 6:51 am

Not unless I completely switch programs and do a 7 hour commute. Not sure if I would have to start the process all over as well.

poet_kelly
on 10/22/13 6:53 am - OH

You shouldn't have to do everything over. You would need to consult with the new surgeon, of course, and they  might want you to consult with their dietician.  If they have a pre op class there, they'd probably want you to attend that.  You should not have to repeat any pre op tests you've already done, though.

There are no other surgeons on your insurance plan closer than seven hours to you?

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

PetHairMagnet
on 10/22/13 6:59 am
RNY on 05/13/13
On October 22, 2013 at 1:53 PM Pacific Time, poet_kelly wrote: