Suddenly having problems eating

solise
on 12/28/13 2:19 am - Brooklyn, NY

im almost 5 years out from my RNY and so far have done well...from almost 400 lbs to 182 lbs but suddenly ive developed problems eating regular cooked foods, my stomach cramps something horrible. I feel fine after eating unhealthy processed foods like canned soup. Anybody know whats going on here?

poet_kelly
on 12/28/13 4:26 am - OH

I have no idea.  Maybe an ulcer, maybe a stricture, maybe a stomach virus, who knows?  If it's been happening for more than a few days, I'd go see your doctor.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

kisersassy
on 12/28/13 7:38 am - Stanaford, WV
RNY on 10/29/12
I am 14 months post op. And had hiatal hernia repaired and a small internal hernia repaired 4 weeks ago. Now I am having issues with food too. I had 2 stricture repairs early post op and now this feels like that. I am hurting after eating anything dense. But all the slider foods are somewhat ok. Can you get a strictures this far out post op?
solise
on 12/28/13 7:49 am - Brooklyn, NY

Im not sure because Ive never had a stricture or hernia. Because I ate out I would like to believe that maybe there was some hidden sugar in the meal. I stuck to soup today and Im feeling slightly better.

poet_kelly
on 12/28/13 7:51 am - OH

You can get strictures at any time.  They are just much more common in the first few months after surgery.