Soda

dawnpsmith
on 1/12/14 10:06 pm

Carbonation floats, so unless you burp it ALL out, it is challenging for the air the leave the anatomy of the pouch through an opening at the bottom which can, in fact, trap air.  

Please don't tell people their medical professionals are misleading them - it causes more confusion than is helpful - no need to continue to respond, I just think you overstepped your bounds.  I am not a doctor either, just a medical scientist.

poet_kelly
on 1/12/14 10:08 pm - OH

I think telling me not to respond and telling me what I should and should not post is overstepping your bounds.  If you don't like to read my responses, you are free to block me.  But this is a public forum and everyone is allowed to respond as they choose.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

dawnpsmith
on 1/12/14 10:34 pm

Completely agree. No hard feelings. 

Mary Catherine
on 1/12/14 10:55 pm, edited 1/12/14 10:56 pm

There has always been a feeling in the general population that people who become obese are just not as smart as those who stay slim.  Some doctors unconsciously or knowingly believe the same thing.  That is why they tell us things like not to drink for 30 minutes before eating.

They don't think a fat person is quite smart enough to remember that it is 30 minutes after eating, so if they say before and after then the low intelligence fat person does not have to remember that it is 30 minutes after.

The same with drinking carbonated beverages.  They are simply assuming that a person not smart enough to eat properly is not smart enough to understand that the pouch has two openings and cannot stretch from the bubbles of carbonation. 

Cicerogirl, The PhD