lexapro

alexadenitto
on 1/15/14 1:13 am - CT
RNY on 04/08/13

My dr prescribed me lexapro for depression/anxiety and i am supposed to start this evening, just wanted to know if any of you have any experience with this medicine after gastric bypass and what your opinions are good/bad if you have taken it. 

poet_kelly
on 1/15/14 1:22 am - OH

I tried it, but I think that was before my RNY.  Didn't help me but it does work for some people.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

H.A.L.A B.
on 1/15/14 2:11 am

It works great for me.  Some get nausea so you need to try to see if it works best  for you if you take it am or before bed.  Some people get extras energy others feel more tired. I typically take it at night.  I have hard time eating first thing am and most meds on empty pouch gives me nausea.

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

alexadenitto
on 1/15/14 3:11 am - CT
RNY on 04/08/13

i have read some reviews online and some people suffered from weight gain while others with loss of appetite and seemed to lose weight, i didnt know if it affected post ops differently 

H.A.L.A B.
on 1/15/14 4:12 am, edited 1/15/14 4:17 am

Neither for me.  If anything - it helps with my stress and therefore limits stress eating.  It allows me to have more easy going approach and deal better with crisis.