Things that interfere with iron absorption

poet_kelly
on 1/17/14 2:47 am - OH

Most people already know that calcium interferes with the absorption of iron but there are actually a whole bunch of other things that can also interfere with it.  I wanted to post a link to an article that lists a whole bunch of things that can interfere with the absorption of iron.  I think it's particularly important to pay attention to these things if you're dealing with low iron, which many people do after RNY.

Things that interfere with iron absorption

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

SandraF0823
on 1/17/14 2:58 am - CA
RNY on 12/30/13

Great information.  I had no idea about a lot of this, like tannins!  I drink a lot of decaf tea.

april89love
on 1/17/14 3:18 am - NC

Thanks Kelly! Great article!

Sandy

HW 225, SW 219, GW 140, CW 124

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!  

PetHairMagnet
on 1/17/14 3:43 am
RNY on 05/13/13

Awesome, thanks! The one that jumped out at me was synthroid. I take bio-identical thyroid meds, but do so in the morning. I know several folks here have said they take it at night and one who also takes her iron then (not sure about others).

HW333--SW 289--GW of 160 5' 11" woman.  I only know the way I know & when you ask for input/advice, you'll get the way I've been successful through my surgeon & nutritionist. Please consult your surgeon & nutritionist for how to do it their way.  Biggest regret? Not doing this 10 years ago! Every day is better than the day before...and it was a pretty great day!

April M.
on 1/17/14 8:37 am
RNY on 09/26/13