Question about Applesauce

mobailey68
on 2/8/14 6:44 am
RNY on 02/24/14

Hi... Trying to prepare for after my surgery and I went to the grocery to look for applesauce. I am having a hard time finding some with low sugar. I found one with 11 grams per serving and that was the lowest. I am just learning. Is the sugar from non sugar added applesauce something that is going to make me ill (assuming if I dump)? Hope this isn't a silly question. Thanks.

poet_kelly
on 2/8/14 6:55 am - OH

All applesauce contains sugar because it's made from apples, and apples all contain naturally-ocuring sugar in the form of fructose.  Choose an applesauce with no sugar added.  Read the label to make sure it has no sugar listed in the ingredients.

Will you dump on fructose?  Well, the only way to know for sure will be to try it.  Only about 30% of people dump at all, and many of them only dump on sucrose, or table sugar, that white grainy stuff you put in cookies and candy bars and such.  But it is possible that you could dump on fructose, especially large amounts of it.  Most people that dump can handle 10 or 11 grams of sugar, though.

So the answer is, no sugar added applesauce probably will not make you dump, but there is a small chance it could.  The more of it you eat at one time, the more likely you are to dump on it, but even if you eat a large amount, you probably won't.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

mobailey68
on 2/8/14 8:11 am
RNY on 02/24/14

Thanks for the response poet_kelly.

PetHairMagnet
on 2/8/14 10:23 am
RNY on 05/13/13