GNC Protein Powder makes me nauseous!

Michele1az
on 2/9/14 12:26 am - Mesa, AZ
RNY on 08/26/13

I am 5 months out from revision RNY. I have lost 80lbs so far getting my protein from food, but lately I have been trying GNC Protein powder which is 60g a serving. I put in 12oz of 2% milk and 3 scoops of powder. I blend it all with ice and it tastes great, but when I am done I have to lay down because I feel so sick. 

Has as anyone else gone through this? I have checked the sugars and it is only 3g, so I am confused at why I feel so sick. 

HELP! 

Michele

Michele in Arizona

Surgery:8-26-13

poet_kelly
on 2/9/14 12:31 am - OH

I don't know why it makes you nauseous.  But if you are getting enough protein from your food,and the protein shake makes you nauseous, I wouldn't drink it.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

sonyamarie75
on 2/9/14 1:36 am - OH
RNY on 08/20/13 with

That's a lot of protein in one serving. Yikes! You could try just a half of a shake and see if you can tolerate that. Maybe its the 12 oz of milk all at once? I know I am pretty sensitive to milk now. I can do a few ounces at a time... No more than 8... and even sometimes that bothers me. 

Good luck. 

Sonya B, Toledo, Ohio- RNY  08/20/13  

Day_dream_believer
on 2/9/14 5:09 am

Try drinking it with water or half water half milk.

I have found some protein shakes make me sick, but I have never figured out why.

You can always return the tub to GNC for a refund. 

angeleigh
on 2/9/14 6:12 pm - angier, NC
RNY on 09/17/12