Cha-Cha-Cha-Changes

pathchic
on 4/16/14 5:18 am - FL
RNY on 08/07/13

I am returning from an OH (and general social media) hiatus - hope all are doing well, and hello to those I haven't met -

I am a little over 8 months out, and I am now about 5 pounds above my goal weight.  Wait... let me say it again... only 5 pounds above goal... ah, music to my ears.  I don't think I ever really believed it possible... but that can be the subject of another post, I have another topic to throw out into the OH pool -

One of my MAJOR issues  is (was) my inability to set limits and say what I need.  I've been working on it.  I started off at my job with a "No, I can't go to that meeting" and a "I'm going to have to pass on serving on that committee".  Then worked up to a "I'm leaving work a little early, and coming home a little late because I am meeting with my personal trainer".  There were quite a few ruffled feathers, and a little push back.  But I rode it out, and (just as my therapist promised) the resistance stopped.  Now I am begining to assess my home life as well.  From a "You know what, you're 13, let me show you how to pack your own lunch", to a "Tonight I am going to meet some friends for dinner, leftovers are in the fridge".  After a few blank stares, an more than one "but I don't know how"; they are falling in line.  I know these things sound minor, but they aren't - at least not for me.  And, though there have been a few bumps in the road, it really has made a difference.  I am learning to figure out what I need to stay happy and healthy, and learning that doing those things does not make me selfish...

Anyway, just wanted to put out the reminder - this is not about what you eat, how fast you lose, or what your weight is... it is about learning to place value on your needs and learning how to take care of yourself.  Everything is a choice.  Choose you.  The people you care about want you to (though it may take them a few grumbles to realize it). 

Lisa87